传奇

1940年11月27日,李小龙出生于旧金山的唐人街,本名李振藩。1973年7月20日,他传奇的一生停止在32岁的年华。即使在这样短暂的一生中,他仍然成为了世界上最著名的武术家和动作片电影演员。

他是香港电影演员、粤剧演员李海泉的儿子。很小的时候他的父亲就把他带到片场,在那里他成为香港最知名的儿童演员之一。在九龙长大,仅在18岁以前,李小龙就用这个艺名出演了20部电影。

1959年,为了进入大学并学习武术李小龙移居美国。 1961年年初,他就读于西雅图的华盛顿大学,并在那里他遇到了他未来的妻子琳达·埃默里,同校的师范专业的学生。

李小龙的武术受到咏春拳法的影响最深,在香港他曾师从于一代宗师叶问和黄淳梁。不久,李小龙开始教他自创的振藩功夫。基本上就是他解读咏春拳的方式。在西雅图他开设了第一个武术学校,命名为李振藩功夫学院。

1964年,李小龙通过偶然由于在长滩举办的一次武术公演得到机会重新回到荧屏中,并在电视剧《青蜂侠》中饰演“加藤”一角。与邹文怀合作后,他的名气越来越大,出演了五部长篇电影:唐山大兄(1971)精武门(1972),猛龙过江(1972)龙争虎斗(1973)和死亡游戏(1978 )。

在这些充满打斗场景的动作片中,李小龙近乎超人,并在影片中描绘了中华民族的自豪感。至今,李小龙仍被称为20世纪流行文化偶像,和最有影响力的武术大师之一。

要了解更多关于李小龙的故事,请访问以下网站:
www.bruceleefoundation.org
www.brucelee.com

The Legend

Bruce Lee was born as Lee Jun-fan in Chinatown, San Francisco, on November 27, 1940. He lived only to the young age of 32, passing on July 20, 1973. Even in such a short life, he remains the most famous martial artist and Asian/American film actor today.

He was the son of Hong Kong actor Lee Hoi Chuen, a leading Cantonese opera and film actor of the day. His father brought him into the film industry early where he became one of Hong Kong’s most prominent child actors. Raised in Kowloon with his family, Lee had 20 movies under his Chinese screen name Li Xiaolong (李小龍) – meaning “little dragon” – by the age of 18.

Lee moved to America in 1959, abandoning a film career in favour of pursuing martial arts and higher education. In early 1961, he enrolled at the University of Washington in Seattle, where he met his future wife Linda Emery, a fellow student studying to become a teacher.

His largest martial arts influence came as he studied the art of Wing Chun under the most famous teachers in Hong Kong, Ip Man and Wong Shun Leung. Soon, Lee began teaching what he called Jun Fan Gung Fu (literally Bruce Lee’s Kung Fu). It was basically his approach to Wing Chun. He opened his first martial arts school, named the Lee Jun Fan Gung Fu Institute, in Seattle.

Lee returned to film in 1964 when a martial arts exhibition on Long Beach led to the the role of Kato in the TV series The Green Hornet. His fame grew when he partnered with Raymond Chow in five feature-length films: The Big Boss (1971) Fist of Fury (1972), Way of the Dragon (1972), Enter the Dragon (1973) and The Game of Death (1978).

These action-packed films made Lee appear nearly superhuman, and he became known worldwide as he portrayed Chinese nationalism in his films. Now, the star is considered to be one of the most influential martial artists of all time and a pop culture icon of the 20th century.

This musical has been written with respect to the Legend that is Bruce Lee.